Reviews

Hotel reviews

Reviews from guests to our Tryp by Wyndham Kassel City Centre Hotel.

Art Deco Surprise.

I was surprised to find it was a charming art deco hotel with a lovely foyer area. Rooms much bigger and better appointed than expected. Bad: Bit difficult to a sign indicating the hotel and the entrance. I walked past entrance at firstl.

Russell on Booking.com, 01.06.2019

Awesome

High ceiling, spacious rooms, great location, very nice staff! I will be coming back!

Anonymous on Booking.com, 15.04.2019

Awesome

We booked two rooms and when they didn't have two rooms on the same floor available, one room we had booked was upgraded to a business suite. Very generous!!! The decor was quite dated but the rooms were functional and clean. The hotel has a very nice bar, and a couple of large lounge areas for privacy--big enough for families or teams. Everything was decorated with holiday decor (x-mas), festive looking. The bar was open for us as long as we wanted as the receptionist was also the bartender. :-) Bad: The room was hot! Opening windows was possible but techno music played into the wee hours of the morning.

Anonymous on Booking.com, 01.01.2019

Awesome

Great location, comfy beds Bad: Bathroom dated

Jessica on Booking.com, 23.12.2018

Exceptional

Nice, clean, BIG!!, friendly people. Bad: -

Frank on Booking.com, 30.11.2018

Very nice hotel, could be special

Very nice building and decor, has the look and feel of a very grand yesteryear but needs a few touches to bring up to date The rooms are big and very very high ceilings, great floor to ceiling windows. The bar area is pretty with an old fashioned games room with pool table (free) but the table needs recovering and the pool cues need new tips They only serve cold breakfast and cold evening snacks One small gripe.. the picture in the lift advertising breakfast over sells it.. it shows lots of breakfast items you will not find, like croissant and sausages Kassel town centre isn't great and the hotel is on the edge of the town centre and a less attractive neighborhood.car park is small but cheap and right by the door, it's right next to the train station and the roads are easy All the castles and attractions are 10min out of town and there are beautiful hotels by them.. but if you want or need the town centre location... I'd choose the Tryout no problems

Ich_Bin_Bert on TripAdvisor, 06.09.2018

Very Good

Location is great. More than enough space. Interesting design and a free pool table downstairs. Bad: It's just way too hot right now during the summer for a fan to suffice on the hotter days.

Carlos on Booking.com, 30.07.2018

Hotel with personality

Nice hotel with history and atmosphere. It needs some renovating and the yard could need some love, but the staff makes up for all of it - they are pleasant, informative and very service minded. And there is a pool table - need I say I won!

Henriette M on TripAdvisor, 19.07.2018

Good

I am just referring to my stay of one night for a very low rate. The room was very large, with a big bathroom (bathtub) with a lounge and a separate bedroom. On the 3rd floor so we were not unconvenienced by noise. Location is very close to the city centre. Based on the price paid, i was satisfied with my stay Bad: Common areas need to be refreshed Location is close to the train station (kind of red light district): definitely not where to spend one week.

Anonymous on Booking.com, 14.05.2018

Very classic 1930s interior. Clean and super friendly staff.

Huge rooms! Old hotel but love the decor. Booked two rooms cus I thought the rooms would have been small but no! They were huge and could easily accommodate two people with big luggage comfortably.

Prinya on Agoda, 29.04.2018

A quiet, comfortable stay

Our stay in TRYP Wyndham in Kassel City Centre was quiet and comfortable, with an excellent breakfast, fine bedroom with a perfect 'anti-chambre' where we could talk, work and write. De city was nearby, at ca. 10 minutes walk to the Fredericianum.

jdamen933475 on TripAdvisor, 07.03.2018

Good

Location was amazing

Agne on Booking.com, 14.02.2018

Excellent location and value for money

The rooms may look a bit dated, but they are very clean and spacious. The hotel is very close to the central station and offers excelent value for the money. Also, the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Martin on Booking.com, 29.01.2018

Very satisfied

My train to berlin was cancelled and I needed a bed so I booked tryp at kassel.i had a nice greeting and a quick and easy check in.i had a beer and something to eat at the buffet which was very nice.my room was spacious,clean and comfy.the WiFi wasn't the best but overall stay was very pleasant. thank you

Traveler on Hotels.com, 31.10.2017

Business is business

Close to the train station - so very convenient for those travelling by train. Vintage style all over. Wifi is not so good... keeps cutting off... cleanliness 3 out of 5 Price ok for 1 night... Good option when in Kassel as there's not much to choose from...

Wissam A on TripAdvisor, 12.10.2017

Perfect if you are staying for one night In Kassel and your just after a place to stay.

The rooms are dated but they are clean, comfortable and spacious. Bad: Nothing.

Lee on Booking.com, 09.10.2017

Low room price but dated rooms.

Friendly staff, quirky lobby, close to train station and centre, reasonable breakfast. Good price. Bad: Rooms were very dated and need refurbishment, musty smell and depressing atmosphere, couldn’t wait to leave. However reflected in low room price.

Paul on Booking.com, 28.09.2017

Comfy quiet room, superb stay!

Breakfast was very good. Lots of choice available. Staff very helpful and friendly. Clean room. Will book again if visiting Kassel next time:) Bad: Wifi Slow... didn’t reach up to my room in the second floor

Mirja on Booking.com, 27.09.2017

Pleasant, and well located for my purposes

The bedding was terrific... the rooms were generous in scale and efficiency. Good breakfast buffet... too bad it was not included in the room price. Bad: There was one employee who was a bit touchy and snipped at me during the serving of coffee at breakfast. It was busy and I do understand that a bit os stress could be an ingredient... breakfast could have been included in the room price which is becoming a more common practice.

Reinhard on Booking.com, 17.09.2017

Great. We loved it.

None of the above. Also, you should let your occupants know that there is a 24 hour techno club that will keep them up all night if they don't have ear plugs. Bad: The techno party non-stop outside was very disturbing.

Jillian on Booking.com, 11.09.2017

Very Good

The hotel staff was friendly. Our room was very large.and the bedding was very comfortable, which is most important. There was a room safe, which is always nice. Bad: The room was rather dated. The carpet in our room had been there a long time and kinda felt it. There was a cabinet where there had once been a small fridge, the cabinet is now empty, but the fridge would have been nice.

Curt on Booking.com, 09.09.2017

Excellent

nice rooms good location Bad: very noisy on a fri sat night

Alan on Booking.com, 24.08.2017

Excellent

Old world atmosphere.

Andrew on Booking.com, 23.08.2017

Documenta 14

Staff very nice. Sleep and breakfast very good. Wi-fi so and so on the 3th floor. Good position.

trittoc on TripAdvisor, 17.08.2017

Convenient hotel for city centre visit

Very conveniently located near station and town centre. Large room. Comfortable bed. Complimentary water in room and coffee in lobby. Not the cheapest in Kassel but very convenient. Bad: No air conditioner but there was a fan in the room.

Juliet on Booking.com, 05.08.2017

Excellent

The staff was welcoming and really helpful on a problem not related to the hotel. They were patient and helped me to manage it. Bad: Unfortunately the elevator got broken, and as I was at the last floor, it was a struggle. They were helpful by allowing us to use the service elevator thought. The lack of blackout curtains were also a problem.

Rafael on Booking.com, 27.07.2017

The hotel was good, clean and good breakfast.

That there was no air conditioning in the rooms, weather was hot and could not open windows due to the loud noise from the 24hr night club/bear garden two doors up.

Norbert on Booking.com, 21.07.2017

Documenta 14

Its a wonderfull place with a lot of space. Behind the hotel is a very nice alternative garden with also a biergarten. Very nice in these warm evenings

594catharina on TripAdvisor, 21.07.2017

Good location

Spacious room. Comfy bed. Bad: No air conditioning but there was a fan in the room.

Juliet on Booking.com, 13.07.2017

Exceptional

I was very impressed by the kindness and friendliness of the staff, as well as the cleanliness of the hotel and quality of the food. I had a thoroughly pleasant stay and felt completely comfortable and safe. The location is excellent -- conveniently close to the train station and in the vicinity of pleasant restaurants and bars. Thank you very much!

Claire on Agoda, 03.07.2017
Contact

TRYP by Wyndham Kassel City Centre Hotel
Erzbergerstraße 1-5
34117 Kassel
Germany